Blue Horses: Poems by Mary Oliver

Blue Horses: PoemsBlue Horses: Poems by Mary Oliver
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I won this book as a “first reads” from Goodreads. This is also the first book by Mary Oliver that I have read, but it won’t be the last. The poems in “Blue Horses” are short, sweet and have a Zen like feel of mindfulness. As a reader I was able to feel and experience her connection with nature, the beauty, and peace that surrounds her. After I read the last poem I did something that I had never done before, I didn’t close the book I just turned back to the beginning and began again. I shared the book with my wife and she loved it as much as I did, now we both are looking forward to reading more of Mary Oliver’s work.

If there is a negative to “Blue Horses” it is that it is too short (less than 100 pages). Recommend to anyone who likes poetry or would like to start reading poetry.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

