All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

All the Light We Cannot SeeAll the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

An orphaned German boy and a blind French girl, whose lives are on a collision course during World War 2. “All The Light We Cannot See” is a lengthy (over 500 pages) but fast read. Once I started reading it I couldn’t put it down. The writing is exceptional and the story is beautiful. A couple small fragments of the story were predictable but, it did not matter because the path of the story more than made up for the one or two things I had figured out before I got to it. There is so much about this book to love. I especially loved where the title came from and what it means (straight up and metaphorically) and I also loved how the ending of the book she was reading (20,000 Leagues Under The Sea) related to the end of “All The Light We Cannot See”. Well done from the beginning to the end.

There is some darkness to the story (violence, cruelty, and death) but it is a story that took place during World War 2. I would still recommend this book to everyone YA and older.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

