Chuang Tzu: Basic Writings by Chuang Tzu, Translated by Burton Watson

Chuang Tzu: Basic WritingsChuang Tzu: Basic Writings by Chaung Tzu
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Over the years I have read many books about Tao, and I’m more than a little embarrassed to admit that this is the first book I have read by Chuang Tzu. Chuang Tzu was one of the earliest and most prolific writers on Tao/Taoism. Several of the stories in this book I have heard/read versions of in other books. Some of my favorites are “The Useless Tree”, “3 In The Morning”, and “Training a Cock to Fight”. Even though these stories along with several others were already known to me it was nice to read them as written by Chuang Tzu (translated by Burton Watson). Chuang Tzu: Basic Writings is poetic, humorous and will help direct the reader to the Way, it also left me wanting to read more of Chuang Tzu’s writings.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

