The Monk by Mathew Gregory Lewis

The MonkThe Monk by Matthew Gregory Lewis
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“The Monk” was written over 200 years ago. Mathew Gregory Lewis later revised it to avoid charges of blasphemy. The edition I read is based on the original, before it was revised, and is the one I recommend.

There was a tipping point for me in “The Monk” somewhere between page 30 and 50 where the story went from feeling a little disappointing to totally engrossing. The Characters became alive and the story rich and full. The story twisted and turned to unexpected places. “The Monk” known for it’s violence and eroticism is a complex story about about abuse of power. Filled with violence, rape, murder, witchcraft, demons, and ghosts. The heart of evil is laid open for the reader to explore. I don’t think I’m giving anything away when I say that the heart of evil belongs to man.

The eroticism and the violence in “The Monk” would be considered tame compared to books published today.

Being over 200 years old, the language is archaic, but it is beautiful, using words like unclose in place of open or peruse in place of read. I recommend that you gain possession of “The Monk”, unclose the book and peruse it’s pages, seated on your sopha or laid upon your couch.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

