Quite Ugly One Morning by Christopher Brookmyre

Quite Ugly One MorningQuite Ugly One Morning by Christopher Brookmyre
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was described to me as a disgusting, raucous comic thriller. Even with that description I wasn’t ready for the thought of the stickiness/slipperiness of vomit to be put in my head or the overly detailed description of the dump someone took on the mantle!

The gross out factor waned after the first few pages and the story settled in to a more normal comic thriller. Quite Ugly One Morning is about an investigative reporter who is thrown into the middle of a messy murder mystery and with the help of the victims ex wife sets out to solve the mystery.

Even though I enjoyed a lot of the writing and liked the characters, a couple of things bothered me. First is when the victims ex wife is telling Jack (the reporter) about how her husband started gambling over a year before his murder (she wasn’t there), he was out with the boys and apparently (as the day went along) he got so drunk that the bookie wouldn’t take his bets (so a friend placed some bets for him. She somehow knew the horses he bet on, the odds and a lot of other information that even the victim or his friends probably wouldn’t remember. The second thing was that the killer, described as a professional, seemed more like a bumbling idiot who shouldn’t walk around without a helmet on. Other than those two (unrealistic) things this was an entertaining read and quite enjoyable.

One day I may read something else by Christopher Brookmyre but I don’t see myself jumping one of his books to the top of my to read list anytime soon.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

