Fern Valley by Aileen Stewart

Fern ValleyFern Valley by Aileen Stewart

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I won this book at http://goodreads.com as part of their first reads giveaways. Fern Valley is a collection of short stories, all the stories are about the characters/animals that live in Fern Valley. For some reason when I heard children’s book I imagined something with a lot of pictures and rhymes. What I received was a pleasant surprise, the book has actual stories with wonderfully written characters, who use their imaginations and are very polite.

The stories are simple and wholesome. Situations arise that most kids will be able to relate to and understand. There are also a smattering of morals to be learned throughout the book.

There is a Christian undercurrent throughout. With grandmothers who sing hymns while preparing dinner, families saying grace before eating and children saying prayers before bed.

Overall I think that Fern Valley was well done and would be a wonderful addition to any child’s bookshelf.

View all my reviews

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Ryan on March 3, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    I will get this for my friend’s sister.

    *facepalm* sorry for the trouble, but I’m also using my A Nerd’s Life blog again, mind adding the link to your blogroll? Sorry lol.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

