A Year Of Blogging

I posted my first post on January 24, 2009. I’ve only posted 56 times (57 if you count this post), I’m hoping to post more in my second year. My blog still has no central message. So far, it’s just random thoughts and a writing exercise that I post/do from time to time.

I’ve had a couple surprises since I’ve started blogging. I think the biggest surprise is the fact that I’ve had almost 21,000 views, that’s almost 21,000 more than I expected. When I decided to start blogging I thought, who cares what I post it’s not like anyone will ever see it.

I do take a little pride in the fact that an article I wrote while taking a citizen journalism class, through the adult community education program, got published in the twin cities daily planet (Spring Rolls In With Bocce Ball Players posted May 8, 2009). Thanks to the class teacher/editor.

I’m also really surprised that the post that seems to have gotten the most views has been “The National Flower Of Canada?” posted October 15, 2009. Since it was posted it has been viewed several times a day and it’s also the post that gets the most traffic from searches. Go figure. It’s the post that I put the least amount of thought into. I saw the picture and immediately thought that the red marks looked like a red maple leaf, so I posted it with a question. Apparently, as a whole, Canada doesn’t have a national flower, but if they ever do this one should be the one.

I want to thank everyone who took an extra minute to click the SocialVibe Badge, on the right, and did the activities. Just look at the amount of water you’ve earned. For those of you that haven’t done it yet, give it a try. It will cost you nothing but a minute or two of your time and it’s all for a good cause.

Now on to year two…

Leave a Reply

