The State Of The Art

TSOTAI really don’t know what to say, the culture books have all been beyond my expectations. The State Of The Art is no exception, it contains 8 stories and then it has some notes on the culture. I enjoyed all of the stories but those that stood out most were “Odd Attachment”, “Descendant”, “Piece” and “The State of the Art”. The story “Scratch” is weird to read but stick with it and you’ll get it (at least I did). The writing technique of “Scratch” kind of reminded me of the Beatles “Revolution 9” (that could just be me though). As for “A Few Notes on the Culture” reading it just shows you how much thought Banks has put into his Culture books, it also gives you some insight to his intelligence. I have few favorites in anything (music, books, movies etc.) but when asked “who is my favorite author? I have no problem saying Iain M. Banks.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by laurensayshello on July 29, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    okay, i know this has nothing to do with your post, but i was wondering if you could help me out with something. i need to choose a book from my summer reading list for school, and i’m torn between two novels. Velocity- Dean Koontz and Against Medical Advice- James Patterson.
    i was just wondering if you’ve read either book and which one was a better read. they both look interesting to me, but i can only choose one. (yeah, they wrote that on the list. figures.)
    i’ve read countless book reviews and since i’m a completely indecisive person, i thought, hey, why not ask someone who knows a lot about books? :]
    get back to me if you can.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

