Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts

shantaram1For a book with over 900 pages this was a fast and enjoyable read. The main character isn’t a good guy but he is likable. Through the book he has personal and spiritual growth. The story has a little bit of everything in it. Plenty of action and adventure, mafia, war and love, all told with plenty of laugh out loud humor, and there are some parts that will bring tears to most peoples eyes. The writing is good, even though I was annoyed by part of it, it still rates 5 stars from me.

The thing I was annoyed by was his over done description of Karla’s eyes (and her beauty). The color of the sea if the sea was perfect, or the color of water lilies after a rain. That’s only 2 examples of the beginning of about 4 or 5 paragraphs. (the book would have been a few pages shorter if he didn’t keep finding different ways to say the same thing.)

Read in august 2008

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jimney Cricket on May 5, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    I like how you can not like the book all that much and still be objective enough to give it a good rating. Pretty interesting review! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • Honestly I did enjoy the book. It was a page turner I read the whole thing (all 900+ pages) in about a week (which is pretty fast for me). I felt that any book that can keep me that interested deserves 5 stars, even if some of the writing was over the top.

      Like

      Reply

      • Posted by Jimney Cricket on May 6, 2009 at 12:16 pm

        Yeah that is a pretty good book that can keep you reading for 900 pages in one week. Hm… maybe in your reviews you can add a little of what the book is about, what sort of book it is, so I can see whether I’d want to go out and look for it. 🙂

        Like

        Reply

        • I really don’t like giving much (if any) of a story away. I hope that people will look the book up or ask others if they heard of it. The book is supposed to be based on the author’s life. He escaped from prison in Australia and ends up living in the slums of Bombay, India and working for the Indian Mafia. If it sounds interesting to you, you should look it up on http://www.goodreads.com Most people loved it or liked it a lot those that didn’t like it were those that found his writing style too pretentious.

          Like

          Reply

          • Posted by Jimney Cricket on May 6, 2009 at 6:54 pm

            That is true. I don’t like knowing much really about the storyline and that sort of thing because I like to figure it out for myself while reading the book. But I was just wondering what kind of book was it, like a novel and what era and that sort of thing, you know? Just like what you just there would be enough, know what I mean? But it does sound like an interesting book, and I’ll check out that site. Thanks! 🙂

            Like

            Reply

Leave a Reply

