Citizen Journalism

 

Last night (April 14th) I had my first citizen journalism class. I had signed up for it through the Community Adult Education Program on a whim. I was thinking the class would be interesting and informative. Thought it might even give me a few ideas for my blog, help me with structuring my article and giving me some basic direction. Other than that I didn’t really give any thought into what the class would actually be like (silly me). To my surprise the class turned out to be more fun and professional than I expected. I’m to turn in a 600-800 word article for the class to workshop so I can get instructor and student feedback. Then I need to turn in a second draft that could be published in the Twin Cities Daily Planet. Now I’m a little more excited about the class, not just because my article has a chance at being published but because of the feedback I’m going to get. Now all I have to do is come up with something to write about, do some interviews, name my sources and put it all together in a traditional “four box” structure…I’m in shock.  Wish me luck.

http://www.tcdailyplanet.net/ 

Leave a Reply

