Shantaram

 

I read the book Shantaram in July-August of 2008. It’s a novel about an escaped convict from Australia who goes to Bombay. It’s based on the author’s life. When I was on about page 600 or so I heard that it was going to be made into a movie. My first thought was wow this would make an epic movie. The first person that popped in my head to play the lead role was Daniel Craig. (During the same time period that I was reading Shantaram I watched the movie Layer Cake starring Daniel Craig.) I saw enough similarities between the two characters that it was a natural fit for Daniel to play the lead roll in Shantaram (in my mind anyways). Then I heard that it was Johnny Depp that bought the rights to the book and my heart sank. I think Johnny Depp is a great actor and all (especially when he plays weird characters) but from what I was reading I just couldn’t picture him in the lead roll of this story. To me that would be like having Anthony Hopkins play the roll of Payton Manning in a movie about the Colts winning the Super Bowl. It’s just not right. Being a great actor doesn’t mean you are the best choice for every roll. I hope Johnny makes the movie. I just hope he isn’t acting in it.

 

My review of Shantaram (and other books I’ve read) can be found at: http://www.goodreads.com/profile/FeloniousMonk

 

Leave a Reply

