Thoughts on Abortion

 

Many years ago I heard of a shooting of a doctor (who preformed abortions) by some pro life nut claiming to be a Christian. I really couldn’t understand how someone claiming to be pro life (or a Christian) could kill. The reasoning was taking a life to save many other lives. Being pro choice I decided to put some real thought into the matter and try to understand both sides and that way understand my own position.

I started with the reasons to have an abortion. It became clear that almost every reason began with I. “I’m too young,” “I want a career,” “I can’t do this on my own,” etc. Even in the case of rape or incest it came to “I can’t bring a child from those circumstances in to the world.” Then there is the abortion when the mothers life is in danger, which boils down to “I want to live.” Even though I can understand the reasons for wanting/having an abortion, it became clear, (even if I didn’t want to admit it) an abortion is purely a selfish act. With that being said, everyone has the right to be selfish.

The next step I took was the question of “When does life begin?”. When I honestly answered that question the only answer I could come to was that life begins at conception. Sure the embryo may just be cells but it’s going to be a baby/child (not a third arm), and the question was “when does life BEGIN?” and not “when does life become recognizable?”.  If the law makers ever admit that life begins at conception then abortions would have to be illegal and those having them or giving them would have to be charged with first degree murder and conspiracy to commit murder. They (the law makers) could however come to the conclusion that abortions early enough would not be punishable (which leaves us at where we are now) or less punishable. Then you would have the problem that if age becomes a factor in punishment of murder, you could argue that killing a child (even a fetus) should get a more severe punishment. Kill a child and you kill any offspring they may have had, effecting the planet more. Where as, killing a 70 year old should get less of a punishment since they are past child bearing age. Then you could argue that a 70 year old male could still father kids so would that make men worth more than women? So how can the law makers (or anyone) admit when life begins if their answer lead them to a place they don’t want to go? (Who is to say whose life is more valuable?)

 

Question: Who has the right to tell a woman what to do with her body? Answer: The woman. However, in the case of pregnancy/abortion though is it really just her body? Should the man have no say in his child? The answer to both of these questions I believe is no. As I established earlier life has already begun so it is not just her body. For the second question, it took two to make it it should take two to decide on a course of action (in a perfect world). If a pregnant woman gets 100% of the say shouldn’t she also get 100% of the consequences? I’m a realist though and I know that is impossible to enforce or expect. It shouldn’t become a world where a man can say here’s the money for an abortion, now I’m not responsible if you decide to have it. Then again how fair is it that only one person gets to say, hey I’m having it and you’re paying for it (for 18 years) or I’m getting rid of your baby and you have no say in it? There is also no way for a man to say hey you are having or aborting it if you want to or not. Since the woman carries/grows the baby in her body it is more of a womans issue but since the decision she makes will affect the man it isn’t just a women’s issue. It’s a human issue.

Being pro choice is not the same as being pro abortion and anyone that says it is is an idiot. These are the same people that don’t want to educate or reduce the number of abortions. They just want to teach abstinence. Abstinence and waiting until you are married was fine and dandy back in the day when people got married at an earlier age (13-16 years old). Now though we live in a world when some girls hit puberty at the age of 8 years old. Abstinence should be taught along with other birth control methods and sex education in general. Planned parenthood does not (or should not) equal abortion clinic. Every last pro-lifer that is out there trying to make abortion illegal should have at least one adopted child too, since they always say that you should keep it or have it then put it up for adoption. Don’t just adopt the babies either, there are plenty (too many) children that age out of the system and are never adopted. There are also studies out that show that unwanted children are more likely to end up in prison. So anyone not willing to take responsibility for educating people or for the unwanted children being born, be it through welfare or adoption, should keep their mouth shut about abortions. In the event that your teen tells you that they are pregnant, never tell them that “I’ve raised you better than that”. Apparently you didn’t, so you have some responsibility too.

My conclusion is that I’m still pro choice, but only because I know the world is better off with legal abortions than with illegal abortions taking place.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jonathan Simeone on February 15, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    I really enjoyed reading your post. I, too, believe that abortions are necessary even though I would not want to be part of one. But one thing I would like to add to your thoughts is the impact that a criminalizing of abortions would have on population. I firmly believe that the route of many of the world’s problems can be traced back to over population. So, if America, alone, had an additional one million children born each year the problems we face would be made much worse.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

