Latin

 

I seem to be obsessed with the Latin language. Ever since I was a child I’ve wanted to learn Latin. So I’m once again installing a language program to learn it. This is something I’ve done a few times in the last 8-10 years, install the program work on it for a while then get busy or frustrated and quit for awhile, or even years at a time. Most of the frustration comes from not knowing others who know or want to know Latin. Like with most things I think you really need to use it or lose it. Good news is that every time I install it, it’s much easier to get to where I was and go a little farther. The language program i have is excellent (http://www.transparent.com/) and I do really well while I’m using it. I just need to be more consistent (and I will be, eventually).

 

I wish I knew what it was about Latin that draws me to it, it’s not like I’m into Romans or that period of time in history, and I’m not Catholic, so I guess the reason or reasons will remain a mystery, even to me. I also own a program to learn Spanish (which I have had for almost 10 years and just installed for the first time), which is what I should be learning. For one thing I love going to the Mexican store up the street from me, they have the best guacamole and a trip to Mexico would be nice from time to time, so knowing some Spanish would be beneficial. Spanish would be easier to learn. With all the Spanish speaking people, TV, Newspapers and movies that are available to me, I will have more opportunity to use Spanish than I will ever have to use Latin. Still most of the time when I sit down to work on a language it’s the Latin program that I open. Eheu!

One response to this post.

  1. I see that Boris Johnson, the new London Mayor wants Latin and Greek to be taught in all London schools. However I would prefer Esperanto on the basis that it helps all language learning.

    Five British schools have introduced Esperanto in order to test its propaedeutic values. The pilot project is being monitored by the University of Manchester and the initial encouraging results can be seen at http://www.springboard2languages.org/Summary%20of%20evaluation,%20S2L%20Phase%201.pdf
    You might also like to see http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-8837438938991452670

    Pope Benedict also used this language this year in his Urbi et Orbi address from the Vatican, at Christmas.

    If you have time can I ask you to visithttp://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=_YHALnLV9XU or http://www.lernu.net Professor Piron was a translator for the United Nations in Geneva.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

