Franklin: The Autobiography by Benjamin Franklin

Franklin: The AutobiographyFranklin: The Autobiography by Benjamin Franklin
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I am no scholar on Franklin but I knew enough about him to know that I wanted to learn more. Naturally, I thought I would learn the most by reading a book about Mr. Franklin that was written by the man himself. Franklin: The Autobiography is full of interesting facts about most aspects of his life. His autobiography covers things about his family, friends, jobs, travels, and of course it covers some of his inventions and experiments. Benjamin Franklin was a genius that constantly worked at making himself a better person and the world around him a better place.

As I started to read the book I found I had to force myself to keep reading. Though there were several parts that I found very interesting, there were even more parts in the book that I felt would be better suited to putting insomniacs to sleep.

For some reason I was expecting beautiful writing using words rarely used today, which I would have loved, but there was very little use of uncommon words (felicity being about the only exception) and there were no flowery passages at all. I usually go into a book with little or no expectations. So part of the problem I had with this book could have been of my own making.

If this book were a food I would say there is a lot of substance but not much flavor. So, I would only recommend it for someone starving for knowledge on Benjamin Franklin (or insomniacs).

View all my reviews

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by veraoleks on May 20, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    I love that your review is simple, straight to the point and most importantly – frank.
    http://verasreadingblog.wordpress.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

